Friday, January 21, 2011

The Sherlock Holmes Novels by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Sherlock Holmes is a classic novel of fiction investigative work. It was written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. The character of Sherlock Holmes was inspired by the author's former professor of medicine; who was gifted in diagnosing a patient with just a glance.

The Sherlock Holmes novels consist of:
1) A Study in Scarlet
2) The Sign of the Four
3) The Hound of the Baskervilles
4) The Valley of Fear

A Study in Scarlet narrates how Wilson befriended Holmes and how they had become housemates. Later on, a murder case has come upon Holmes to solve, where for the first time, Wilson learns Holmes's method of deduction.

The Sign of the Four investigates another murder case that has a motive of fortune behind it.

The Hound of the Baskervilles is the most peculiar and by far my most favourite case. Sherlock Holmes was asked to solve the legend behind the Hound of the Baskervilles.

The Valley of Fear on the other hand is a murder case that had been done by a very dangerous and high profile organization.

Sherlock Holmes involves a lot of deduction work. So some might say that these novels would be boring. But to me, these novels are very good and definitely had portrait how brilliant Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was. My rating would be: 4/5

p/s: The characters of Sherlock Holmes and Watson in the novels are humbler and more well mannered than
       in the movie